So, What am I…What are you?

I trying to get the hang of this blogging thing, but here we are – my second official blog on wordpress. [cheers and applause] Hopefully, I will get the hang of it.

To be honest, I really don’t like labels. The usual labels we use for ourselves and others (ie; liberal, conservative, fundamentalist, evangelical, etc) usually get used in a lowest common denominator type of way and as a term of derision. In other words that person is a liberal and I would never be a liberal because all liberals are radicals. Or that person is a fundie and I would never be one because obviously all fundies are idiots (at least it seems that this is what is conveyed by how the label gets used). Really, it is too bad that labels get used in such a way as to just communicate what we are against because originally most labels have some specific beliefs and claims attached to them. But too often these actual beliefs are ignored, misrepresented, or overemphasized so that one can make a point or win an argument. Well, anyways, the sermon is over I guess. I just think it is bad that our (yes, I said “our” as in you and me because I think it is as much a problem with us as it is with the unnamed someone else out there – we all face this temptation) propensity to label each other so often keeps us apart and squelches dialogue.

Really, you never know how quizzes like this are going to turn out. But I think the results of this one are not bad. I’m not sure I would have self-rated myself so high on the emergent/postmodern category. I wouldn’t describe myself as “emergent” per se (“emerging” maybe) I don’t think postmodernism is all good or can solve all the ills of the church, but then again I don’t think a lot of emergents say this either. The movement is more diverse than what is often recognized. For those who have heard bad things about emergents and see that I rated so high…let me assure you that I have not abandoned Truth or the Bible and still believe in Jesus. He is the Way, the Truth, and the Life. Perhaps, if concerned, you will be comforted that both “liberal” categories scored at the bottom. I like that I scored so close on the Reformed and Wesleyan categories. I am neither a five point calvinist (though I am a moderate calvinist) nor am I a pure Arminian. I am surprised that “Conservative” was not one of the categories but maybe that was covered under “evangelical.”

What’s your theological worldview?
created with QuizFarm.com
You scored as Emergent/Postmodern

You are Emergent/Postmodern in your theology. You feel alienated from older forms of church, you don’t think they connect to modern culture very well. No one knows the whole truth about God, and we have much to learn from each other, and so learning takes place in dialogue. Evangelism should take place in relationships rather than through crusades and altar-calls. People are interested in spirituality and want to ask questions, so the church should help them to do this.

Emergent/Postmodern

89%

Reformed Evangelical

64%

Evangelical Holiness/Wesleyan

61%

Neo orthodox

54%

Fundamentalist

50%

Roman Catholic

39%

Charismatic/Pentecostal

39%

Classical Liberal

32%

Modern Liberal

18%

So, what are you?Click here and find out.

3 thoughts on “So, What am I…What are you?

  1. Pingback: Day 90 of 100 Days of Blogging « C.C. Almon aka LorelaiCC

  2. Pingback: Day 90 of 100 Days of Blogging

  3. Pingback: Day 90 of 100 Days of Blogging | I'm On My Way

Comments are closed.